About Us

Establishment and Historical Development

Marmara Municipalities Union (MMU) is the oldest and the largest regional Local Government Association in Turkey with 190 members from the Marmara Region. The MMU operates in 13 cities, 6 of which are metropolises. These are as follows: Balıkesir, Bilecik, Bolu, Bursa, Çanakkale, Düzce, Edirne, Istanbul, Kırklareli, Kocaeli, Sakarya, Tekirdağ, and Yalova.

The 45 municipalities that share a coast on the Marmara Sea or the straits came together in 1973 and decided to act together in order to prevent the pollution of the Marmara Sea and find solutions to environmental problems that crossed the borders of their individual municipalities. As a result of their efforts, a "union" was agreed to be founded within the framework of Chapter 7 (Articles 133-148) of Municipal Law No. 1580. The Marmara Municipalities Union was founded on 25 April 1975, after a two-year preparatory period, under the name of “Union of Municipalities of the Marmara Region”. The center of the union was located in Izmit at the beginning and moved to Istanbul on 25 May 1977 by decision of the General Assembly of the Union. The name of the association was changed to "Marmara Municipalities Union" (MMU) on 30 April 2009.

Since its foundation in 1975, the MMU has played an important role in the formation of a culture of agreement and collaboration among mayors and council members elected from different political parties, and in the development of cooperation between municipalities. It carries on important activities in areas such as training, consulting, maintaining a local government library, local diplomacy, magazine and book publishing, scientific activities, coordination and cooperation, migration and social cohesion studies, environmental management, corporate capacity building, and urbanization.

MMU pioneers such efforts as improving the democratic local government movement in Turkey, increasing the authority and resources of municipalities, raising environmental awareness in local governments, and representing municipalities at the international arena.

You can access MMU's Brochure here.

Tahir BÜYÜKAKIN 2019
Mevlüt UYSAL 2017-2019
Recep ALTEPE 2009-2017
Kadir TOPBAŞ 2004-2009
Hasan AKGÜN 2002-2004
Ahmet BAHADIRLI 1999-2002
Sefa SİRMEN 1996-1999
Sami GÖKDENİZ 1995-1996
Ali Talip ÖZDEMİR 1994-1995
Nurettin SÖZEN 1989-1994
Bedrettin DALAN 1984-1989
Mehmet Ali BÜKLÜ 1980-1980
Reşat TABAK 1978-1980
Ahmet İSVAN 1977-1977
Erol KÖSE 1975-1977
Ahmet ENÖN (Founder) 1973-1975

M. Cemil ARSLAN 19.02.2014  
Züver ÇETİNKAYA 16.04.2012 17.02.2014
Recep BOZLAĞAN 20.02.2007 16.04.2012
Halil ÜNLÜ 2003 2007
Fikret TOKSÖZ 1992 2002
Devlet ÖZTÜRE 1990 1992
Halil ÜNLÜ 1980 1990
Selahattin YILDIRIM 1977 1980
Avni ÖZTÜRE 1975 1977